The three State Museums in Brunswick

The 3Landesmuseen in Brunswick are the biggest museums in the state of Lower Saxony and are made up of:
the Braunschweigisches Landesmuseum, the Herzog Anton Ulrich-Museum, and the Staatliches Naturhistorisches Museum.

The Herzog Anton Ulrich-Museum and the Staatliches Naturhistorisches Museum originated from the collections of the Guelf dukes of Brunswick and were first opened to the public in 1754, making them some of the oldest museums in Europe. The Braunschweigisches Landesmuseum was initiated by Brunswick citizens and opened at the end of the 19th century. In 2007 the three formerly independent museums were joined together and formed the 3Landesmuseen.

At a total of eight locations, the State Museums teach their visitors about history, archeology, art, and natural history. You can find our permanent and special exhibitions at the following locations:

Braunschweigisches Landesmuseum:

  • Braunschweigisches Landesmuseum, Burgplatz 1, 38100 Braunschweig
  • Braunschweigisches Landesmuseum: Hinter Aegidien, Hinter Aegidien, 38100 Braunschweig
  • Braunschweigisches Landesmuseum: St. Ulrici-Brüdern, Schützenstr. 21a, 38100 Braunschweig
  • Braunschweigisches Landesmuseum: Archeology, Kanzleistr. 3, 38300 Wolfenbüttel
  • Braunschweigisches Landesmuseum: Farm House museum Bortfeld, Katzhagen 7, 38176 Wendeburg

Herzog Anton Ulrich-Museum:

  • Herzog Anton Ulrich-Museum, Museumstr. 1, 38100 Braunschweig
  • Dankwarderode castle, Burgplatz 4, 38100 Braunschweig

Staatliches Naturhistorisches Museum:

  • Staatliches Naturhistorisches Museum, Pockelsstr. 10, 38106 Braunschweig